Enterprising Emma takes leap of faith into self-employment

Image
Photo of Emma Austin of Sandwich Stack

Three months out of work, and struggling to find a job, Keighley-based Emma Austin has now taken the leap of faith into self-employment, through her new business Sandwich Stack, ‘I had always dreamed of working for myself, and having the freedom to make my own decisions.  Being unemployed was not something I was comfortable with, and the lack of jobs meant I could really focus on what I really wanted, which was to run my own business’ said Emma

Emma, 23, who lives in Long Lee, has received strong support from Bradford Council’s enterprise support programme, Kickstart.

Rav Panesar, an Enterprise Coach at Keighley-based Airedale Enterprise Services, supported Emma through discussions around self-employment, business planning and marketing.

Support was also provided by the Prince’s Trust, the charity established by the Prince of Wales to help enterprising young people start their own business.

Emma attended various network and training events that gave her an idea of what it was like to be self-employed, ‘I attended a networking event in Keighley which was great as I met loads of people who could help me.  Also through the Princes Trust, I attended a training event where I learned about the basics of setting up’ said Emma

‘I’ve received some great help and support in getting my business off the ground. Setting up a new business is not easy, and having someone around to talk to has been invaluable’

Her new company Sandwich Stack offers an outdoor catering service of fresh sandwich platters for local events, business meetings and lunchtime catering for professionals, ‘We cater for anyone who is organising a meeting, or an event and needs good quality food, using the freshest of ingredients delivered to their door. We have a simple approach, which is to give customers a great service, great food using fresh ingredients and a simple menu to order from’ said Emma

Sandwich Stack offers a choice of three simple options, silver stack, gold stack and platinum stack.  ‘Its very easy to over-complicate things, however, my philosophy is to keep things simple and easy to understand for my customers.  I want to help businesses that want an event or meeting catered for, in a simple and easy way!’

Emma, who enjoys running and pilates recognises the importance of a healthy diet when it comes to food, ‘I love to keep fit and healthy, and I’ve introduced a fresh fruit platter for business people who are always on the move.  My motto is ‘Food for Thought’ which is exactly what people will get!’

Sandwich Stack – http://www.sandwichstack.co.uk, 07540 252933
Kickstart Information Line – 0800 953 9503
Rav Panesar, Enterprise Coach, Keighley – 01535 607775
Princes Trust – http://www.princes-trust.org.uk/

About ravpanesar

Help people to start up and run their own business

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Case Studies, News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.